I.F – Soft

I nearly didn’t do anything for Illustration Friday this week, as I’ve a few bigger projects on, but the more I threw the word around inside me, the more a sweet, irresistible little idea swirled together…

soft_king_by_cathy_hookeyI realised I’d not drawn a tiger in ages & big cats are so lush to draw, they have such beautiful shapes. ‘Soft’ was also a nice challenge as I don’t draw ‘soft’ as often as I could. I’ve been a little under the weather, so I channeled my longing for warm, dark naps wrapped in sparkles & the love of the Tiger King. I took the plunge with more muted colours than usual & I concentrated on some amped up texture instead.
soft_king_detail_by_cathy_hookey

I know I say this every time I post something, but I really enjoyed doing this! Inspired hugely by FKA Twigs, a lady with a voice that can melt things deep inside your chest, & make me do lots of very blissed out slow dances around my studio every time I got stuck with the drawing! 🙂

Featured image is what it looks like to be walking inside a cloud in Northern Wales ❤

Leave a Reply

