Greet This Year With Love!

Happy new year my lovelies!

Tonight I am writing you from Charlotte airport in North Carolina, waiting for my connecting flight while eating a packet of saltine crackers, sitting in a rocking chair & watching a man push trolley full of Christmas wreaths through the concourse.  I thought I would like to give your eyes & hearts something to start 2015 with, so here you go.

greet_this_day_with_love_by_cathy_hookey

The text is from ‘The Greatest Salesman in the World’, by Og Mandino, a book I’ve recently rediscovered after an uncle gave it to me years ago.

The book is, as you imagine, meant to be about becoming super good at selling things. But, as the kerfillion people who have read it have discovered, it’s advice for success in much more than sales;

Henceforth will I love all mankind. From this moment all hate is let from my veins for I have not time to hate, only time to love. With love I will increase my sales a hundred-fold and become a great salesman. If I have no other qualities I can succeed with love alone. Without it I will fail though I possess all the knowledge and skills of the world.

My travels have given me so much opportunity to experience what it means to greet people with true love. I’ve learnt how lucky I am to get to find out about humans & their lives. I meet old women who tell me about their children & grandchildren & their shared Christmas traditions, I meet ex-corrections officers who make amazing sculpture out of scrap metal they find, I meet girls in airports who laugh to themselves whilst reading ‘Lolita’ & wear a tree of life on a chain around their neck. I hate to say I forgot the name of that old lady on the bus to London, but Frank on the train to San Francisco, & Sienna on the plane from Oslo will stay with me forever!

Remember a stranger is just a friend you haven’t met yet, & may your new year start with peace, love & lots of friendships 🙂

Big love! ❤

One thought on “Greet This Year With Love!

Leave a Reply

