Merry Christmas 2014

HO HO HO!  Merry Christmas, happy Yule, frohe weinachten, feliz navidad!

I love Christmas more than anytime of the year so I made a Christmas picture, albeit a slightly alternative one.

decorate_the_patriarchy_cathyhookey

I’m an intersectional, trans-inclusive feminist.  A few years ago I studied women’s rights after I started paying real attention to issues of gender & race through stuff like Everyday Feminism & Ms.  I’ve never known how to include this passion with my illustration…I guess I’ve felt like I haven’t been able to consolidate the weight of subjects surrounding social justice with how much I enjoy using humour in my work.  That said, I think a sensitive use of humour can be very a effective way of communicating serious subjects in a non-threatening, manageable way.  I’m hoping I managed to get the balance right with this piece!

It’s a play on the acclamation ‘destroy the patriarchy,’ & I was super pleased to hear a feminist friend say she read it as “destroy the patriarchy!…after you’ve destroyed this mince pie!” Thoughts & feelings welcomed, as usual 🙂

Merry Christmas everyone!  So much love to you all.

Leave a Reply

