Winters past & winters to come <3

Tomorrow I am journeying from my brisk, bright-eyed seaside town in Cornwall all the way to the Big Apple of the United States, after stopovers in London & Oslo. The hectic travel machine is slowly winding up her cogs once more, you see, meaning the end of my delicious rest period but the start of another adventure. I’ll be spending this Christmas in New York. I can’t wait to get out there with my sketchbook & my notebook, heart & eyes open & ready to be surprised by the swirling multitudes of the city. Last year I spent my winter in the hills around Zürich, Switzerland, snuggled up in an 18th century farmhouse that smelt like woodsmoke & glühwein. It was dream trip, but a dream so polarised to this year’s snowy surroundings I can’t help but compare. So that’s what I’ve been doing, comparing, nostalgic for last year & apprehensive for this one.

swiss_winter_sketch_cathy_hookey

So a romantic, nostalgic Swiss sketch. A dopo, ragazzi, on the other side of the pond! 🙂

Leave a Reply

